Admission is $3.00 for adults, children under 10 Free.
The Stone-Otis House, ca. 1830, was built by Sarah and Dennis Stone. This house represents one of the finest old homes in what was the newly formed town of Orange. Built on the east side of the Town Green, this modified Greek Revival stands as a tribute to the fine workmanship of the time.
The home was sold to Phoebe and Charles Otis in 1887 and was held in the family until 1965 when it was sold to the Town of Orange.
The Historical Society has restored the home with four rooms on the first floor: a keeping room, a parlor, a bedroom and a general store. The original general store, run by Dennis Stone, was the second of its kind in the town. The second floor has been restored to include a bed chamber, a nursery, a children's room and a display of 19th century clothing. The third floor is "Grandma's Attic" displayingÂ a collection of items that would be seen in an attic as the families grew and saved their belongings and treasured memories.
A dooryard garden, with native plants and herbs is a colorful addition to the home with an espaliered pear tree growing against the blacksmith shop.Â Â Tours are by appointment by calling 203 795-3106.