Information on:

Archway Gallery

Archway Gallery
2305 Dunlavy Street
713-522-2409

A Brief History:

Archway Gallery opened for business on April 1, 1976. It was the creation of a group of artists that had decided the time was right to take artistic control of the process of selling art. Archway’s first location was in the C.G. Jung Center at 5200 Montrose, which had a 600 sq-ft gallery space. The gallery’s name was derived from the arches in this space. From the start, Archway was conceived as an artist-owned gallery – it would be owned and operated by the artists who would take complete responsibility for the operation of the business. New members would buy shares in the business. (The original members also had to buy a track light head as part of the agreement!) Initially, Archway had 11 members: Elaine Adams, June Adler, Judy Bush, Mary Bush, Joan Calabro, Dorothy English, Joyce Gould, Janet Hassinger, Marianne Hornbuckle, Stephanie Nadolski, and John Zanders.

Its first mission statement: "Archway Gallery is a partnership of regionally and nationally recognized professional artists. The gallery concept evolved in order to provide a showplace for these talented members to exhibit their work and to insure artistic freedom and individual control of quality and content. These artists are committed to promoting art with the community and to educating the public and an understanding and sharing of aesthetic ideals and purposes."



Archway Gallery is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at Archway Gallery

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Monday, Feb 18, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Thursday, Feb 21, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Friday, Feb 22, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Saturday, Feb 23, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Sunday, Feb 24, 2019 from 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Monday, Feb 25, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Tuesday, Feb 26, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Woodland Waters: Allures of the Ozarks

Thursday, Feb 28, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Saturday, Mar 2, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Opening Reception - Spill

Saturday, Mar 2, 2019 from 5:00pm to 8:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Sunday, Mar 3, 2019 from 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Monday, Mar 4, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Tuesday, Mar 5, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Wednesday, Mar 6, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Thursday, Mar 7, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Friday, Mar 8, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Saturday, Mar 9, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Sunday, Mar 10, 2019 from 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Monday, Mar 11, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Thursday, Mar 14, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Friday, Mar 15, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Saturday, Mar 16, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Sunday, Mar 17, 2019 from 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Monday, Mar 18, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Friday, Mar 22, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Saturday, Mar 23, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Sunday, Mar 24, 2019 from 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Monday, Mar 25, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Tuesday, Mar 26, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Thursday, Mar 28, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Friday, Mar 29, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Saturday, Mar 30, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Performance - vR, by Alexandre Farris Soares

Saturday, Mar 30, 2019 at 7:30pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Sunday, Mar 31, 2019 from 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Monday, Apr 1, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Tuesday, Apr 2, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Wednesday, Apr 3, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Exhibition - Spill

Thursday, Apr 4, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Houston, TX
Read More »

Photos